Hang 10... or as they now say...hit the lip!

2nd Light Forums
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 58 penalty strokes......
Topic Summary: for the stupidest new rule change ever!
Created On: 10/17/2019 08:13 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/17/2019 08:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Posts: 8195
Joined Forum: 01/19/2005

LPGA golfer assessed 58 penalty strokes after mistakenly breaking new rule

An LPGA golfer received 58 penalty strokes during the first two rounds of the Senior Championship earlier this week after self-reporting a rule violation she had committed several times.

Lee Ann Walker violated a new rule barring caddies from lining up behind players as they putt. According to Yahoo Sports, the fellow competitor's caddie had pointed out the violation to her about halfway through the second round of the tournament.
Senior LPGA officials said in a statement Walker reported the violation to judges, according to Golf Digest. Walker then recreated her rounds Monday and Tuesday to find out how many times she broke the rules. She received 42 penalty strokes for Monday's round and 16 penalty strokes on Tuesday.

Each penalty is two strokes.

Walker's score from Monday's round was adjusted to 127 and she finished with a 90 on Tuesday. Walker told the Associated Press on Tuesday that her playing partners made her aware of the rule, which had gone unnoticed.

Her playing partners let her know half way through the round ON THE SECOND DAY! Granted, she and her caddie should have known the updated rule, but damn thanks for the early heads up...... Normally you'd be DQ'ed for signing an incorrect score card, even by mistake, but since she wouldn't have made the cut anyway, I guess they gave her a break.

That is the dumbest rule IMO; the caddie can still stand across green in position to give you a line on the hole.

Purveyor of Logic and Wisdom
 10/17/2019 02:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Central Floridave

Posts: 48528
Joined Forum: 07/22/2003

That is a dumb rule. Why? Is it considered cheating?
 10/18/2019 06:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Posts: 8195
Joined Forum: 01/19/2005

I have no idea what their logic is behind this rule change. It's one of a few new changes that just started last season. Most are for the better IMO, it'll speed up play for amateurs and won't really impact the pros....except for this lady.

Purveyor of Logic and Wisdom
146059 users are registered to the 2nd Light Forums forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in to the forum.

FuseTalk Basic Edition - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Hey Matt B ... How the hell o are you ??? :)